Experiment | Letting Your Boyfriend Do Your Make Up

Hey guys.

 

If you are reading this post, I really would like to say thank you. I have put a lot of effort into blogging and looking at everyone who sends their blog links to me. I will always read, share and follow, especially on social networking – mainly Twitter. @writtenbytayla. But I will so been branching out into the world of Facebook and creating a page on there so keep a look out. 

Moving on swiftly…. the title of today’s blog pretty much speaks for it’s self. I have in fact let my boyfriend, Dan, take control of my face. He was willing to help me with a blog post and we came up with this as a way for him to get involved. 🙂 so grateful for his help and him supporting me.

So I gave him a list of what needs to be used, and for him to choose from my collection. Here is what he chose… 

 

*Disclaimer – sorry about the poor photos, it was a spur of the moment experiment and some bulbs in our house has unfortunately gone. 😦 *

Image

PrimerELF Mineral Infused

FoundationELF HD Mattifying Cream Foundation (oil free) PREVIOUS POST

-ConcealerELF Cover Stick

-PowderELF Booster

-BlushCover Girl (bought in USA in 2012)

-BrowsRimmel Pencil

-LinerEyeko PREVIOUS POST

-ShadowELF Palette 

-MascaraNYC Big Curl

-LipsBarry M PREVIOUS POST

Right so there is everything. I have linked up all the products and which products I have posted about previously with the link to that too, so you know where to find them with the prices. He didn’t know what he was picking – as he is clueless when it comes to makeup and products. So it was unintentional that the products he chose were ELF. But at least he picked the affordable products – not that I buy any other kind! This blog is all about the budget baby!

Image

 

 

So we have stage one – no makeup. Making the task even more difficult for him, I have unfortunately poor skin right now. Very red and a few angry looking spots. It happens sometimes no matter what products I am using to help. 

The only instruction I gave him was “make me look like you would be happy to be seen outside the house with me”. There was no particular occasion given, just he had to be happy to see my looking like this. 

He accepted his challenge and then began. As he was unsure of what products did what, the only thing I told him was what they were and what they were used for. He knew the basics – foundation covers the face and mascara the lashes, but primer was something he had not heard of. 

Applying the primer consisted of dragging his hands down my face – some what amusing for him.

Image

He applied my ELF primer and then went straight into the foundation. It was a cream foundation applies with the round sponge given and he covered. He then found the redness in my spots were too much for the foundation and applied the cover stick followed by the booster, Telling him the booster was to set the foundation into place otherwise I would slide around all greasy. (not cool)

Image

The Cover girl blush was almost all gone, so he struggled to apply this, but just applied in circular motion on the apples of my cheeks – just like a doll.

Image

 

Eyebrows – my poor poor eyebrows… 

Image

 

Image

Eye shadow followed and he said “You where a lot of purple so I choose that”. My face was in shock. I am not a fan of bright purples on my eyes as I do suffer with dark shadows so I always appear to look like I have been punched in the face. He literally slabbed it on with no blending or other colour just a shocking purple. 

Image

He got extremely excited when he picked up my eyeliner and his eyes lit up. He knew what he wanted to do and there was no stopping him. I asked him to be gentle as eyeliners are my babies, and this one was received in my new BirchBox (review in my previous post). I felt the tip hit my temple and I knew I was screwed from that very moment. He was worried about applying the mascara as it was a really chunky brush, but he carried on and was careful. 

Image

 

Image

The lipstick was applied just on my bottom lip and he asked me “rub my lips together” to spread the colour. 

Image

And then he was done. How beautiful, right?

ImageImage

From there, what I decided to do was use the exact products again and create my own look and show him how it is really done. I am not a professional makeup artist, and the lighting is rubbish because my bedroom light bulb went, so I am sorry about that, but I used the tools I had and carried on. 

Here is my step by step picture timeline…

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

I think I prefer my look, and have no intention of letting him do my makeup again. Unless I was joining the circus… 

 

Would you let your partner loose with your makeup and your face? I challenge you do this and share your pics with me on Twitter. Might have a cheeky giveaway if I get enough sent to me and get Dan to choose the winner 🙂 If I have a few entries before the end of the week I will go ahead with the prize. 

You must follow my twitter to enter.

gogogogogogo

 

Twitter – @writtenbytayla

 

 

xo

6 thoughts on “Experiment | Letting Your Boyfriend Do Your Make Up

  1. I’ve seen quite a few videos on this kind of thing and always found them quite humorous. I’ve been tempted to try this out because I think my husband would be SO out of his element! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. What an excellent idea for a post! I love it! your look is brilliant and your boyfriends…well, he tried, you can’t say he isn’t creative!

    Just found your blog and I’m really loving it!

    Jenn | PhotoJennic

    x

Leave a Reply

