Face | Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Good Evening my lovelies!

How are we all this rainy day? Well I don’t know about you guys, but little old England is not having the best time at the moment when it comes to weather. I suppose us Brits should be used to the rain, but unfortunately not. It is currently hammering at my window and this morning I was woken up by a butt load of hail hitting my window too! To be honest though, I love days like that where I can just light up all my candles and hide under a blanket all day! Which I sort of did. I lit all the candles, cleaned my little flat and had some lovely company from my favourites; my mum and two sisters.

Anyway, enough talk about the weather. I have been blog reading, video watching and online shopping (by shopping I mean finding goodies I can’t buy and trying to find bad reviews to stop myself from spending). But one little goodie I came across I just had to buy.

I have always really either used my hands or a brush to apply my foundation and face makeup, so I was really excited to try the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge when I came across it. Every blogger I have found tends to love it, so I couldn’t really say no and at a small £5.99 from Boots, it became a must have. I found it slightly cheaper on Amazon at £4.99 with no PP but for an extra £1 I left the shop with it!

As you all know, I have terrible skin. Not necessarily covered in spots anymore (except in this post I am, hello hormones!) but my cheeks in particular are covered in scars! Waaaah!! So I really struggle to find a good base that really hides them well without adding layer upon layer making the foundation appear orangey against my super pale skin. Every time I have used a sponge I have never been impressed with the coverage and the fact that it soaks up nearly half the foundation you wish to apply – not cool. Seeing the reviews I was quite skeptical about using a sponge but this one is used slightly differently to you bog standard 10 little triangles for £2 in your local drug shop sponge.

I have been told that wetting the sponge will help not only give you the desired coverage but also minimise the amount of product it soaks up! – Can this really be true?

So here goes..

It is a weird looking product but makes the whole thing that little more intriguing for me to try. It is designed by Sam and Nic Chapman who run the YouTube channel Pixiwoo – I have been watching this channel for a while now at the recommendation of my friend Lauren and must say they are very talented ladies.

ImageImage

The first picture of the sponge is where it is dry and the second picture is after I have wet it. As you can see it has almost doubled in size, so i was pretty amazed. So let me go through with you what the packaging says about the shape of it. Each part of the sponge has a purpose and will allow you to apply the product a lot easier. Here is what it says:

The Flat Edge: Contours around the eyes and nose.

Sides: Blend large areas of the face

Tip: covers imperfections.

Here are a few pictures…

BEFORE                                                          CONCEALER LAYER                                 FOUNDATION

 

 

 

 

2014-02-04 13.36.332014-02-04 13.44.502014-02-04 13.45.57

 

UNDER EYE CONCEALER                      AFTER

 

2014-02-04 13.49.59 2014-02-04 13.54.09

 

As you can see, my skin has evened out and hidden the majority of the imperfections. Unfortunately it hasn’t covered them completely but I feel satisfied enough to walk out the front door! My skin is evil can in some lights can look awful so I have no expectations of completely flawless – though it is desired! The sponge did a good job at blending the product in without me feeling caked in makeup but still leaving me covered enough to say that my skin wasn’t so bad. I used the sponge for my night out over the weekend and I used the sponge to layer the foundation and concealer multiple times for a heavier coverage. I would most definitely use the sponge again and will hopefully learn to use it to its full potential. I also recommend to buy it because it does provide a choice of coverages, like I said – one layer is perfect for day time and then layering up for the evening as well.

The products that I used:

My good old trusty Max Factor Colour Adapt. I have written about this before..

IMG_1444

Max Factor Under Eye concealer – I am not a great lover of this product. I feel that doesn’t give me the coverage I need for the bags that I find myself to wake up to! This was £7.99 in Boots.

Benefit Fake Up: I don’t use this very often but I will after using it today. It gave me a nice coverup layer after applying the foundation to mask those annoying blemishes even more so. A nice thick concealer and contains a layer of the anti blemish solution too so when applied it not only covers but helps heal and prevent too. A nice little product.  The packaging is lovely too!

MUA Hide and Conceal: I do love this concealer. It cost me the bank breaking price of £1…yes only 100 pennies and is a standard conceal stick. I love that it is a nice thick concealer so it can help even out my scarring on the skin. I applied this one before my foundation for an even coverage. I am almost out of it though!

IMG_1445

Adding my eye makeup, blush and lip colour I found myself creating a nice simple look which would be ideal for anyone who is looking for a nice natural daytime look for a daytime date on valentines day!

I used the MUA Undressed Palette shade 10 for the outside of the eye lid blending into a Milani loose powder eye shadow in the shade 05 fairy dust. This was a nice pink colour fading into a deeper brown. Adding the ELF cream eye liner on the upper lash line, I followed the line right across, layering for a black that stands out. The brush that comes with the cream eyeliner sucks – it is too stiff and doesn’t get right into the corner the way I like so I do advise using your own brush to apply this. Adding the City Curl NYC mascara I finished the look. I didn’t want to add false lashes today but did want to use a mascara that gives me the fuller looking lash and this one does the job nicely. My lip colour was the Revlon ColourStay Ultimate Suede in the shade 010. This range has been advertised by Emma Stone who is beautiful so she convinced me to buy it!

 

2014-02-04 14.07.002014-02-04 14.14.17 2014-02-04 14.14.10 2014-02-04 14.14.08 2014-02-04 14.15.55

Ta-Dah!!

2014-02-04 14.37.57

I finished by straightening my hair and pinning my bangs back – I hate them at the moment and completely regret putting them back in – never mind it will grow!

 

What do you think? Would you buy the sponge? Have you tried it before? What did you think?

 

You know the rules – Let me know!!

xo

5 thoughts on “Face | Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

  1. Great overview, very detailed! I think I’m one of the last people to have never tried out a sponge like this. But I feel you with the skin frustrations, I’ve also got scarring on my cheeks (and also ginormous pores.) Such is life haha. Lovely post 🙂

    • I definitely recommend the blender, and it can really help get into problem areas!
      I actually bought a product today that is supposed to help with such problems, I will give it a go and review it and hopefully it works!! xo

  2. Lovely posts as always!
    I have tagged you in the 7 Deadly Sins of Beauty tag!
    Have a look at it on my blog harwoodinheels.blogspot.co.uk
    Grace x

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to look at my blog. I apologise for my absence and having not read your comment sooner, to miss out on the tag, however my newest blog post explains why I have been MIA, but I am back and raring to go!

      🙂

      Love xo

Leave a Reply

