Face | Foundations I Wouldn’t Buy Again.

Hey there pretty people!

 

How are we this fine Thursday eve!?

I am so sorry I have been MIA this past week, I have had my lovely monthly migraine and it completely wiped me out. If you have read any of my previous posts, you will have noticed that I have mentioned my migraines, and I tend to get them once a month (brought with aunt flow) but recently they seem to have eased right down, but this week they have all caught up with each other and just left me useless. I was even sent home from work on Monday because of it, which has ruined my work record! I have been at my current job for nearly 2 and half years, and only had 1 sick day (from my migraine) and now this half a sick day so I am gutted!!

But if you are ill, you’re ill right?! 

Do any of you suffer with migraine? How do you handle or control them? what is the quickest way you find shifts the pain/sickness/vision loss? Would love to know, I have a really low pain thresh hold so I think it was really mean of my body to make me suffer this much!! I find a dark, cool room, snuggly pj’s and being surrounded but wet flannels and ice packs helps me!

 

Anyway, moving on! 

Today my Mum surprised me with a spontaneous visit to come and say hello with my little sister. It was lovely to spend my evening with pleasant company as my boyfriend works nights, so I spend a lot of time on my own.

She asked me to show her my vanity storage and desk, including the contents of it, and I found my self going “oh my god this is amazing” or “I don’t like this, but you probably will, why don’t you have it to try”. I gave my Mum a good few products to try, and hopefully she comes back with a review of some of them and writes me a guest blog (like she keeps promising 😉 ) and maybe she can give a different opinion to what I have to say. We have quite different skin types, I am combination skin and she tends to have oily skin, which can make a big difference on how we feel about certain products. 

 

So I have written a few reviews on some of my favourite foundations so I think it is about time I shared my opinions on some foundations that I purchased over the past year and didn’t really find myself liking as much as I thought I would. They are all of different brands, and doesn’t mean I don’t like that particular brand completely, JUST this particular product. I will always justify my reviews with my personal opinion and no one else’s. All products have been paid for by my self, unless stated otherwise.  

 

Let’s get the ball rolling shall we!?

 

I am going to start with an E.L.F product and it is one I was really excited to try, so I think maybe it was my expectations were too high.

It was a product I put on my Christmas list, so my dearest mother bought it for me. I tried a small hand sample, as you do, when I went to Cardiff for my birthday and we visited the store, and the little swatch of it I applied to my hand I was SO impressed with. I think it was a bit misleading how the good the coverage was. It was the “HD Mattifying Cream Foundation” and it comes in this little compact.

Image

 

I LOVE the packaging, but the product did not do what it said on the tin. waaaahhh! I tend to have my oily skin days, but not regularly, however I found that the days I wore this product it definitely was not mattifying and did not last the whole day. It left my face patchy and slippery, especially around the T-zone area. I tried a few different powders to see there was any problems with certain ones, but had the same result multiple times. I was gutted. I was surprised to see on the front of the lid, it said “oil free”. I don’t necessarily think it’s telling any porkie pies but it definitely did not sit well with my skin. I would however use the remaining amount for a coverage that wasn’t needed all day, such as a night out. It always lasted a few hours before becoming oily, so for short term wear, I would rate it as it had a good coverage to begin with. 

 

My foundation number two would be the Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation.

Image

 

I found the colouring was a good match for my pasty skin, which is probably the number one problem I have with foundation, but I was let down by the coverage. As I have many many skin imperfections from teenage acne and scarring I do like a good thick, light weight foundation that has a really good coverage. I would recommend this one to any one who doesn’t have problematic skin with minimal flaws and doesn’t might a very light coverage. I found it to be quite runny which is another thing I don’t like with some foundations. The packaging is lovely though so it sits nicely in my drawer. This is one of the products I gave to my mum to try and she doesn’t need or like a heavy foundation the way I do :). I would not mind trying the concealer in this range simply because the colour match was pretty much spot on for me and softer concealers are good for under the eye. 

 – If you have read any of my previous posts, you will have read my review on Rimmel’s Matte Mousse Foundation, which is now one of my absolute faves, so like I said, it isn not the brand completely, it is just this particular product, that I personally don’t get on with. –

 

My final foundation that I am not too keen on would be Maybelline’s Fit Me range. I don’t use many of their products but I have found them to be a reliable brand from what I have picked up in the past. I picked this foundation up on my travels to LA back in 2012, and I on and off use it just to double check that my skin hasn’t changed. Again the colouring matched well but it was a very runny foundation and like I said – for me, that not cool. I find that runnier foundation leave me oily and sticky even with powder to set the coverage. They don’t last all day on my skin, so it’s not ideal if I want to stay fresh faced. This is a product that I think My mum liked though, with her light weight foundations, so again this is just from personal preference. The other problem I had with this is that THERE IS NO PUMP which makes it super easy to get the contents out  the world’s most infuriating thing when you have loads of product left that just will not come out! Grrrrr – one of life’s annoying things.

 

Image

 

I loooooove foundation packaging, it always looks so smart. 

 

How do you feel about these products? Let me know 🙂

 

xo

 

 

2 thoughts on “Face | Foundations I Wouldn’t Buy Again.

  1. I get awful migraines a couple times a week so I feel your pain 😦 I have prescriptions for Imitrex and Zofran from the doctor and take it with 2 Naproxen. Within 4 hours the pain is to regular headache level and completely gone within 24 hours.

    I’m sorry you didn’t like the Maybelline Fit Me foundation! I love the Fit Me stick. I’m pretty pale and its one of the only drugstore foundations that matches my skin.

    -Katie
    beautybycaitlin.com

    • I use the Maxalt Melts which I take if I feel my headache is turning into a migraine and it tends to do the trick, but sometimes migraines are just too stubborn! I couldn’t handle a couple times a week so you must be a saint for coping!

      I do love a good foundation cover stick so I might still give it a try because it is a good match for my skin too!

      Thanks for reading xo

Leave a Reply

