Today’s Look | Nice and Simple

Hey Beauties!

 

How are we all today? I have an a day off work today so what an opportunity for me to document a few stages of my make process, I even had the courage to take a completely naked face selfie – sorry if it cracks all your screens 😉

On all the days off that I have, I will try my best to create a new look and document the process, and even eventually if you guys like it and encourage me enough, I will set up a youtube channel! eeeek! (currently saving for a new camera for this so I will keep you posted!!)

I am thinking of posting a few nice valentines day looks for all you lucky ladies with dates and plans, and my looks will range from the ‘no makeup, makeup’ look for those who want to look effortlessly amazing to those who lip the eyes and lips to stand out. What do you all think of that? I think I will do it anyway! haha!

Anyways, so back to business. today I chose to play around with my new makeup palette that I received as a gift, but I wasn’t in the mood for heavy makeup as I had no plans to even leave the house! Not because I am lazy, but going out means spending money I don’t have and I am too close to pay day to risk that! 

 

So here goes.. 

 

No makeup what so ever…Warning…it is not a pretty sight! (excuse the hair and major rootage).

Image 

I look thrilled to be taking that picture! Anyway, I covered my mug with my good old trusty Max Factor Colour adapt (after priming with my refreshing Nivea Express Hydrating Primer) and my new Rimmel Stay Matte Powder. To finish my base off, I added some ELF blush and even a slight contour with one of the colours in my super duper ELF palettes. (all these products I have spoken about in previous posts).

Image

 

Image

Looking slightly happier now as you can tell!! – Yes still in my pj’s here too. No judgements please! (I did get dressed though, i just have a particular routine and makeup before getting dressed is just WRONG in the mornings. Simply because I have a habit of spilling things. Though I brush my teeth after I get dressed and well, thats never a good idea.)

I didn’t worry too much about my eyebrows as I wasn’t leaving the house and I am in dire need of a tint and shape!!!!!!!!! ahhh It is so embarrassing! The over grown slug look is NOT attractive.

 

Here is the palette I recieved as a gift from my beautiful Mumma!

ImageImageImage

 

Mum, having done her research has told me that this is a replica of the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette. I have always wanted to invest in these palettes but having been the higher end makeup brand, it has never been ideal for me to spend over £30 on just one palette. I think I will eventually invest in them but for now, just my lovely drugstore, lower end makeup does me just fine. I love shopping on a budget because I always find a lot of people out there are willing to spend a hell of a lot of money on particular items where I can find similar products cheaper, so I can get more for my money. My blog is about finding good value products that do their job, not reviewing products that everyday people like myself can’t really afford! Maybe one day!

Anyway, It is beautiful isn’t it? I was so chuffed when My Mum gave me this, lots of looks and experimenting is to be done!!

I only used 3 colours today. Sand, Wave and Silk. 

 

I applied sand as my base colour, all over the eyelid and under the brow line. Adding a pale colour here will open your eyes more and help define your brow that little bit extra. I used the Wave over the crease, with the ELF crease brush, and then the Silk over the eyelid under the crease. Here is the look…ImageImage

 

Excusing the gigantic forehead, I must apologise for the quality of the picture. I didn’t quite realise how bad it was, but I think you get the idea. 🙂

I added the ELF cream eyeliner in black along the lash line (applying this with the brush it came with), and then a black crayon along the waterline of my top lid – again the ELF mineral crayon.

I felt that I could add me some lashes on today as I wasn’t in rush for work, and I wanted to keep them natural to keep the look nice, simple and everyday. So, I chose some lashes I received for Christmas from my little sister, Lowen. She purchased them from Wilkinson for the bargain price of 50p!!!!!! I wasn’t expecting them to be any good at all, but I was pleasantly surprised. I have a thing about using my own glue (Elyure bottle of glue can be bought from Boots for around £3.99 and has lasted me forever!!) as sometimes with the cheaper lashes the quality of glue isn’t great.

ImageImageImageImage

Just add a small amount of mascara to blend in your natural lash to the falsies and you’re good to go. I think I used an NYC mascara, as the brush was small and doesn’t clump.

 

At this point, I curled my hair, got dressed and then brushed my teeth ready to apply some lippy!! For christmas, I received a couple of lip stains, to help keep my lipstick looking freshly applied all day. They were purchased at Primark at £1.50 per one, and OMG I order you all to stock up!! I was so impressed with it that I will be buying all the colours. I applied this in a pinky tone and then added some lip gloss by ELF. 

 

Image

 

Look at the colour pay off just from a stain! This stain lasted even longer than the gloss, so I am more and more impressed every time I use it.

 

 

Image

The only down all the gloss is that the glitter in it can be felt when wearing it. It sometimes feels like I am have sugar on my lips which can feel uncomfortable, but this isn’t annoying enough for me to not wear or like it.

One thing I didn’t do was take a full photo of the finished result 😦 (i know – slap my wrists) but I did receive a compliment from my boyfriend so I must have looked alright!!

My jumper for the day..

 

Image

 

And my nails 🙂

 

 

ImageImage

Image

 

 

Let me know what you think 

 

xo

 

3 thoughts on “Today’s Look | Nice and Simple

  1. Great blog Tayla, your mum is fab researching and buying things for you. I wish my mum was like that! Love the look, had to giggle at your boyfriends toes in your jumper of the day photo 🙂

    • Haha I tried to hide them but as he works nights he’s asleep during the day and it gets so hot in our flat that the duvet on his feet is a no no.
      She is amazing helping me out but she is just as fond of beauty and makeup products as I am and she will be guest blogging for me soon too!
      Thank you so much for reading my blog, hope you pop back soon xo

Leave a Reply

