Foundation | Rimmel Stay Matte Mousse

Hey there!

How is everyone today??

As you all know, January is a long month for myself (and probably a few people out there) for cash, because of the changes to wages because of Christmas, and I can honestly say it has been terrible! We are just about getting by but it has definitely put a strain on my relationship with my boyfriend. It is expected but doesn’t mean that it hasn’t been rough.

Anyway, moving away from the bad, my point was that, when I buy products from Boots, I gain points on my Beauty Card, and I have saved them all up, especially for times where I need something, or just have an itch to buy and feed my addiction to all things makeup.

I had been doing so well to avoid all shops on the highstreet (so difficult considering I work in the town centre) and was so so so proud of myself, but on Tuesday evening, my mum needed to pop into Boots and dragged me along! How could you mum?!

So of course, realising I had some point to spend, I bought a couple of goodies that I have been seeing everywhere in the blogging and beauty world, and just had to try it to see for myself.

Reviews have always come up positive for this product and I am one to buy and try to see what the fuss is all about (debating whether to buy Benefit’s Pore O’clock for this very reason).

If you have been following me on Instagram (which I hope you have 😉 ) you would have seen this cheeky purchase and mini review on my thoughts…

Image

This is Lightweight Liquid Mousse, by Rimmel, and it designed for keep away shine with a good, thick coverage but to feel light on the skin. A small amount is meant to go a long way, making the product last longer. It comes in variety of shade to suit the majority of skin tones.

Honestly – It is just another one of those products that is always talked about it the biggest disappointment and waste of money

It does all of the above.

I am still in complete shock at how much I LOVE this foundation. It is everything I could possibly want from a foundation and I wake up every morning now looking forward to applying it. I honestly have such terrible skin from neglecting it throughout my teens, and after applying my Nivea primer and them this foundation, I am absolutely gobsmacked at the result – even before applying the powder to set it.

Look for yourself.. (forgot to take a before picture, but you will find a few makeup free pics in previous posts.)

I didn’t even need concealer to cover any stubborn scarring/blemishes! That is a big deal for me!

It is normally £5.99 from Boots, but I bought it for £4.49 as it is currently on offer.

Image

I did also purchase the Rimmel Stay Matte powder as well, hoping that the colouring would match nicely and that I did genuinely stay matte – which I did. As you can see in the picture, it did match my skin tone – extremely well actually.

Image

Again, I found this product lightweight despite the purpose of it, and as much as I love my Max Factor foundation, I think I have found another winner for me! (This never happens to me when it comes to foundations). I am normally that girl you see walking down the road with the wrong shade of foundation because NO one makes one pale enough, or the powder is supposed to be Translucent and it genuinely isn’t!

You can see in the picture above that I am so pale that I am almost translucent myself. hahaha. – you should see me when I am ill and haven’t applied makeup for a few days, I genuinely look like I am dead, I am that pale! Being a natural red head causes such issues as these!

I purchased this one for £3.99 and applied with my ELF Kabuki brush as it did not come with anything to apply it with.

So the finished look….

Image

Here I have applied the Barry M lipstick I previously wrote about – I seriously meant it when I said I was pulling out all the bright colours! Adding some blusher to my base of foundation and powder brought my skin tone back to life to join the living for the day!

Image

Or with the same eye make up, I switched to the ELF matte lip in Coral with a touch of gloss (This is one of my Eva Longoria looks, a darker eyeshadow with a nude lip).

Have you tried Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation? What did you think? Will you try it now?

xo

ps. Don’t forget to follow my instagram and twitter to keep up with daily posts and the odd selfie here and there to see how I am wearing my makeup and what’s going on in the World of Tayla 😉  @writtenbytayla  Thanks cuties xo

Leave a Reply

