Finding The Right…

…Foundation!!

 

Has anyone else has the endless fight of finding the right foundation for their skin type? This one product has to do and be so many things, that you are fighting a losing battle!

 

Here is what a foundation needs to be and/or do:

-Match you skin tone; there is nothing worse than walking down the High Street and seeing those girls who don’t have a clue (I’m one of them). They are either a cheesy wotsit or ghostly white! I have, plenty of times, fallen under both categories, mainly the slightly orange side as I have a rather pale complexion!

 

-Easy to blend; you want to be able to apply the product without it being patchy and just overall messy. I have come across some nasty foundations that have dried before even being applied to my face! It wouldn’t blend whatsoever and I ended up just giving up! Not even adding an extra touch of moisturiser can help sometimes.

 

-The right price for you; never shop in the section that you wouldn’t be able to afford regularly. If you are like me, I wear foundation everyday without fail to cover up all the flaws of spots as a teenager. I always avoid the expensive areas because my idea of hell would be finding the perfect foundation with the hefty price tag. I probably go through a bottle a month so nothing more the £15 on the bottle is my idea of ideal. Finding the nice £40 foundation that does the job is all well and good but you don’t want to find that one time you can’t afford it and be left with high expectations. 

 

-The right texture for your skin; Everyone wants something lightweight and that doesn’t melt off of you face after walking briskly to work. I don’t know about you guys but I can get a bit flustered which causes a nice sweaty face. I want something that isn’t too oily but is also thick for a good coverage. If you already have flawless skin, but feel naked without a thin layer of something, you aren’t going to want the thick coverage.

 

-It has to work with your type of skin; If you have oily skin, you don’t want an oil based foundation, if you have blemishes or suffer with spots you are going to want an Anti-Blemish solution. If you have dry skin, a moisturising coverage.

 

There are so many other things to take into consideration, but you do need to find what is the most important for your skin type. Only you can know how your skin will react to certain ingredients. 

 

After years of applying makeup and trying to learn my skin type, I think I have found the one!

 

Every time I need a new foundation, if I feel the need to keep looking, like I know there is something better, I will not buy that product again. I will spend hours in Boots if I need to, testing them on my hands, then if passing the hand test, trying to see how a red patch on my face  is covered.

 

Before I tell you want I found, I am going to tell you a little about my skin…

I have a lot of scars from having rather spotty skin as a child. I would never leave my face alone (bad habits die hard, but I am certainly not as bad as I used to be). Sometime my skin can be quite oily – I think that depends on the weather, drier in the winter and oilier in the summer, but I think that is normal! I can have a bit of eczema down the sides of my cheeks, which might not be itchy but can sometimes look red and irritated. I still suffer with acne (especially during the time of the months, hopefully I am not the only one!) so a prefer a thick coverage that isn’t going to make me feel greasy nor caked in makeup! 

 

Here are a couple pics of the foundation I found…Image

 

Before full application…

I think you can really see what I mean by bad skin. My pore are just gigantic and the redness of my skin is horrible!

Image

 

After full application… 

 

Image

 

I personally can really see a difference.

 

The Main thing I have trouble with as well as the colour of the product for my I-am-so-pale-I-am-almost-transparent-skin is that lasting coverage is a MUST, and this for me is perfect, I can get home from work, and although it may not be perfect (like I said bad habits die hard when it comes to not leaving my face alone) is it could go back out without reapplying and be comfortable with how I look…

 

So what did I buy… at the cost of £9.99 from Boots, I found this to be reasonable. Having a budget of £15 per month, I think I have really struck lucky with finding it. The reason I have never tried this brand of foundation before, is I have always believed them to hold a hefty price tag, but I am so glad a didn’t resist the urge to look this time..

 

Image

 

Ta-Da!!! I think I am in love!!!! The bottle says it all… I am no longer an oompa loompa, and I can leave the house without worrying about getting a little bit sweaty! Despite the thickness of this foundation, it is still extremely lightweight but still thick enough  for that desired coverage!! I do not feel the need to continue to shop around (unless I find a good bargain, I will always try something new) but I have found my new permanent foundation that works perfectly with my primer!

 

Have you tried this one before? Whats your favourite foundation?? Let me know!!

 

x

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Finding The Right…

  1. Pingback: Recent Favourites | Face | Those Perfect Imperfections

Leave a Reply

