The Key to Colour!

Hey there!

So we all know I’m not one to spend horrid amounts of money, but I will also do what I can to feel good and try my best to look good too!

This means accessorising!

I’m going to tell you how I got to my recent DIY before I show you what I did…

Basically, I moved house about 3 weeks ago and for all that time we lived with only having one key between the two of us! There was a time where my partner heard me say ‘I’ve taken the key, see you later’ whilst walking out the door. This was completely wrong and I said ‘I don’t have the Key so make sure you’re in when I finish work.’

He is a pain in the backside sometimes! Ha! So what happened was, he decided that he was going to go out, obviously forgetting the key! Lets just say he had to climb a ladder and break in to our own flat! What a wally, right?

But this week we finally got round to getting all the keys cut, and so I have my own set of keys, hurrah!!!!

When he got them cut, he asked if I wanted to get a colour or a design or pattern put on the key.

My first thought was ‘yes, I want to be girlie and glam up my keys’. And then he decided to tell me the prices. My next thought being ‘errrrrrrrm…no’.

I was a bit gutted because I love jazzing up anything I can!

Thinking today, a lightbulb lit up my teenie tiny brain. I remember a few months ago I was browsing the web, like you do, and saw someone had actually painted the tips of their keys.

Right, I came home and I was all over this!!!

I chose to use my nail varnishes and I have tonnes if them!!! And here is how I did it….

Take your key..

20130821-232606.jpg

And paint it with a white nail varnish…

20130821-232656.jpg

You need the white to make sure you have a base for the colour you choose and it brightens it up too!! So choose your colour and paint!

20130821-232823.jpg

20130821-232908.jpg

20130821-232928.jpg

20130821-232948.jpg

20130821-232941.jpg

20130821-233013.jpg

20130821-233020.jpg

Here are my final products πŸ™‚

One advice I would give to you when painting them, would be to try and use a quick dry paint. And paint one side and let that dry before you paint the other! Me getting excited about how they are going to look, I spent a good half hour waving them to get them to dry!

Maybe I’m the wally!

If any of you paint yours, make sure you show me!

Good night xo

One thought on “The Key to Colour!

Leave a Reply

