Beautifying Myself!

In one of my previous posts I said that this weekend was my Sister’s 18th birthday. 

If you are girl, you know how hard to process is for getting ready! It isn’t a short, easy one, lets put it that way! So what I decided to do, was document my process and share with you. 

The thing is that I decided this after I had finished the base of my makeup (foundation and powder with a spot of blusher) so it will mainly be the eyes and lips 🙂

Here is my starting face… 

Image

 

I always start do my makeup before I start my hair, so please ignore the nest!

The main reason I wanted to share this with you was because I spent some money on some new products. I bought them from the website http://www.elfcosmetics.co.uk and this website contains my new favourite things! (If they sold shoes, it would be the icing on the cake!!)

What I love about E.L.F (Eyes. Lips. Face.)  is that their prices are amazing! 

My friend bought me an eye shadow pallet for christmas one year which is what introduced me to the cosmetics. 

So one day being bored (being bored with the internet is always damages the bank) I found myself browsing this website and the one thing that pushed me to spend some of my hard earned money was 50% off EVERYTHING. 

Rubbing my hands together with the biggest grin on my face, I went shopping!! I spent a grand total of £19.95 (inc postage and packaging aswell as the 50% discount). I do love me a bargain!! This got me 12 items including a range of mineral makeup. 

Image

 

I bought myself somethings that I have used before, but also a few things that I have never tried out. I took this opportunity to blog the things I have never tried before and share with you guys what I think! Hopefully it helps you all at some point!

Anyway, first step was eyes! I love applying makeup to my eyes (no matter how fiddly and frustrating it can be). Here is the base I picked.. Image

How beautiful!! I teamed this with a dark brown.. Image

I was worried that the dark brown was slightly too dark..maybe more of a black but it came out such a beautiful colour! Using some black liquid liner on my top lid, adding a slight flick on the end. The liquid eyeliner I am using currently is the £1 primark felt tip pen. It isn’t the dark so a couple layers would need to be applied but it lasts just as long as the more expensive eyeliners and it glides on nice and smoothly. Why pay £15 on an eyeliner that does exactly the same thing?!) For me to say a Primark piece of makeup does surprise me because I do get watery eyes, and it is important for me to find one that will not smudge or become a watery mess! I was so surprised at this. It would bought as a quick replacement to cover myself whilst I went away (I was horrified when I realised I left my other one at home, and since buying the new one I haven’t even looked at the old one! Who would have thought that?!)

Also I added black eyeliner pencil on my top and bottom waterline this adds a darkness to my eyes (I couldn’t imagine life without eyeliner!)

Image

 

I like the shadow to fade into a different colour towards the end of my eye, so a lighter gold into a dark brown is what I chose to do. My aim of my look was to go for a kind of darker vamp style instead of my usual griller style. I LOVE the darker look, as long as it only worn occasionally and for a reason. I personally do not believe it should be worn for everyday, simply because it should be worn as a statement. 

 

Next step…Eyelashes!!! I get my strip lashes from Primark for £1 and buy a better pot of glue to keep them on, rather than using what comes in the pack. It is most definitely worth the money to do it this way as the pot was bought a while ago for the price of around £3-£4! So it does last a long time!!

To finish of the eyes I added some volumizing mascara in black (of course) and some more eyeliner just to define the eyes a tad more… before I show you the final pic of my eyes, I am going to quickly show you what I chose to do with my lips.

 

Choosing a bright lipstick with darker eyes is a big mistake. It is just took much and sometime can look quite tacky. It is either statement eyes or statement lips. So I chose to use a red, but it wasn’t an ‘in your face red’. It was slightly darker but only really tinted my lips. 

But before applying the colour I added a plumper and a primer by E.L.FImage

I have slightly thinner lips that I would prefer to have, so I thought the plumper would be a good idea to just make them appear to be more fuller. The smell ins unusual but not unbearable! Applying the plumper was easy, it has no colour. It was a product that you may not have been able to see but you could most definitely feel you had it on! It stung slightly, but all plumping lip products have this effect I do believe. The primer came out as a pale colour, very similar to the tone of my skin. This smooths out my lips and helps the colour last longer. (It also helped me keep the red slightly lighter than it is supposed to be)..

ImageImageImage

 

So guys, here is the finished product. (before the hair) 

 

ImageImage

 

Next was the hair! Now as it was raining I felt there to be no point in styling it with heated products, so with some extreme back combing and hair spray, I decided to finish my ‘vamp’ look with no fringe and pulled to the side… Image

Image

 

Check out the tattoo I had done yesterday too!!

 

To compliment the dark side of my style I went for all black. Black top (Primark £10), Black skinny jeans (Dorothy Perkins, Sale @ £15) and a black clutch bag (£10 Dorothy Perkins). I went for the to brighten up my look slightly with statement shoes! Hot pink! Bought from New Look (£19.99)

I love wearing black. I wear it more than I should, but it most definitely more flattering and slimming than any other colour. Black will also never go out of style!!

All my blog readers and followers should know that I have major problems with my weight and how I look, so it is extremely important to me that I feel good about myself! Black does this for me!

 Here is the finished product.

 

Image

Excuse the mess!! But what do you guys think? Would love to know!

 

Love to you all !!! xx 

4 thoughts on “Beautifying Myself!

Leave a Reply

